Saturday, November 10, 2018


LOS ANGELES (November 8, 2018) -- Tonight, the SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s 3rd Annual Patron of the Artists Awardshonored industry leaders and artists who are champions for the arts and whose history of fostering creativity and creating opportunities has made a positive impact on the performing arts and the world. The event took place today at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills.

This year’s benefit recognized entertainment industry leader and studio head Jeffrey Katzenberg and trailblazing director/writer/producer Spike Lee with the “Patron of the Artists Awards” which commends their commitment to championing the careers of countless performing artists. Director Guillermo del Toro presented the award to Katzenberg, and “BlacKkKlansman” cast members Adam DriverTopher Grace, and John David Washington presented to Lee.

The “Artists Inspiration Awards” were given to performers who use their platform to advance humanitarian and philanthropic causes. Legendary actor Harrison Ford received his award from his “Blade Runner 2049” co-star, Ryan Gosling. Superstar performer and actor Lady Gaga was presented with her award by her “A Star is Born” co-star, Sam Elliott.

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s 3rd Annual Patron of the Artists Awards was hosted by Rachel Bloom, star of the critically-acclaimed CBS show, “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.” The evening included musical direction by Gregg Field with an opening performance by Dave KozKristin Chenoweth who sang “The Man That Got Away” from the film “A Star is Born” featuring Koz; Arlissa who sang “We Won’t Move,” an original song from the feature film “The Hate U Give”; multiple Grammy®-nominated songwriter Ledisi who sang Nina Simone’s hit classic “Feeling Good”; and Adam Lambert who sang the iconic Queen song, “Who Wants to Live Forever.”

Other presenters included Alison Brie, Adam Driver, Jason GeorgeTony HaleGeoffrey OwensReid Scott, Henry Winkler and Michelle Yeoh. President of the SAG-AFTRA Foundation JoBeth Williams and Executive Director of the SAG-AFTRA Foundation Cyd Wilson also spoke on behalf of the nonprofit.

Other celebrity guests in attendance included: Barbara Bain, Parker Bates, SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris,Robert Forster, Kat Graham, Mackenzie HancsicsakRussell Hornsby, Sharon Lawrence, Esai Morales, and Susan Sullivan.

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s Patron of the Artists Awards is an annual benefit for the nonprofit’s programs which provide aid to artists facing life-threatening illness or economic hardship, free educational resources and workshops for performers, and free children’s literacy programs worldwide.

About the SAG-AFTRA Foundation
The SAG-AFTRA Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that provides vital assistance and free educational programming to SAG-AFTRA artists and families while serving the public at large through its Emmy® nominated children’s literacy program Storyline Online®. The Foundation relies solely on support from gifts, grants and sponsorships to maintain its free programs. For more information, visit

Connect with the SAG-AFTRA Foundation
Twitter: @sagaftraFOUND
Instagram: @sagaftraFOUND
Hashtag: #PatronAwards

No comments:

Post a Comment