Friday, October 1, 2021




The Star-Studded Gala, Co-Chaired by Jason Blum, Ava Duvernay, and Ryan Murphy, was Presented by Rolex with Leadership Support by J.P. Morgan

        The Event Raised More Than $11 Million for Los Angeles's Newest               Museum, Dedicated to the Arts, Sciences, and Artists of Moviemaking.

On September 25, 2021, as part of a week of celebrations culminating in the museum's public opening on September 30, 2021, the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures hosted an Opening Gala co-chaired by Jason BlumAva Duvernay, and Ryan Murphy

The celebratory evening included the presentation of the inaugural Vantage Award to Haile Gerima for his work as a filmmaker who has helped contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema. Sophia Loren was presented the inaugural Visionary Award for her extensive body of work that has advanced the art of cinema. The Vantage and Visionary Awards were generously presented by Rolex. Bob Iger, Annette Bening, and Tom Hanks were also recognized with the Pillar Award for their leadership of the recently completed Campaign for the Academy Museum. Designed by the Haas Brothers, the Pillar Award references the soaring sphere of the Academy Museum and the iconic gold of the Oscar. 

View the Academy Museum Opening Gala teaser:

The event was attended by many notable actors and filmmakers, who came together to support the new museum, which advances cinema's understanding, celebration, and preservation. Produced and designed by Opening Gala Creative Director Lisa Love and Artistic Director RaúÀ Vilathe evening was inspired by Academy Award®-winning movie Spirited Away, written and directed by acclaimed filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki. From a cocktail hour on the Wilshire Terrace, guests passed through a whimsical Hayao Miyazaki-inspired "tree tunnel" to a dinner under the stars on the Dolby Family Terrace. Guests enjoyed an exceptional musical performance by Lady Gaga and the opportunity to preview the museum's highly immersive exhibitions, including a retrospective of the work of Hayao Miyazaki. Dinner was prepared by Wolfgang Puck Catering, which oversees catering services at the museum and its restaurant Fanny's.

Notable attendees included Academy Museum Trustees, Arnaud Boetsch, Jason Blum, Laura Dern, Diane von Furstenberg, Olivier de Givenchy, Ray Halbritter, Tom Hanks (and Honoree), Miky Lee, Eva Longoria, Alejandro Ramirez Magaña, Ryan Murphy, Dominic Ng, Ted Sarandos, Jeremy Scott, Kimberly Steward, and Emma Thomas.

Academy and Museum Leadership was present in full force: Academy Museum Director and President Bill Kramer, Academy Museum Chief Artistic and Programming Officer Jacqueline Stewart, Academy Museum COO and General Counsel Brendan Connell, Jr., Academy President and Academy Museum Trustee David Rubin, and Academy CEO and Academy Museum Trustee Dawn Hudson.

Here is the star-studded guestlist who attended - Academy Museum architect Renzo Piano, J.J. Abrams, Sasha Alexander, Judd Apatow, Robert Armani, Nicole Avant, Angela Bassett, Warren Beatty, Colleen Bell, Halle Berry, Selma Blair, Orlando Bloom, Diego Boneta, Abigail Breslin, Charles Burnett, Ruth Carter, Bob Chapek, Cher, Eva Chow, Clifton Collins, Jr., Laverne Cox, Darren Criss, Benedict Cumberbatch, Jamie Lee Curtis, Julie Dash, Ariana Debose, Jenna Dewan, Ernest R. Dickerson, Barry Diller, Grigor Dimitrov, Ashgar Farhadi, Lady Gaga, Mayor of Los Angeles Eric Garcetti, Kaia Gerber, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Nikolai & Simon Haas, Tiffany Haddish, Rebecca Halls, Colin Hanks, Lydia Hearst, Kathy and Rick Hilton, Jennifer Hudson, Kate Hudson, Van Hunt, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Cheyenne Jackson, Arthur Jafa, Patty Jenkins, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Michael Keaton, Anna Kendrick, Riley Keough, Nicole Kidman, Regina King, Shaka King, Maryse Knight, Spike Lee, Shawn Levy, Adriana Lima, Billie Lourd, Emmanuel "Chivo" Lubezki, Natasha Lyonne, Bob Mackie, Jenna Malone, Frank Marshall, Marlee Matlin, Thuso Mbedu, Max Minghella, Kate and Laura Mulleavy, Kumail Nanjiani, Ruth Negga, Christopher Nolan, Normani, Sarah Paulson, Katy Perry, Arianne Phillips, Edoardo Ponti, Zac Posen, Questlove, Lily Rabe, Issa Rae, Andrea Riseborough, Olivia Rodrigo, MJ Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Meg Ryan, Filippo Scotti, Diana Silvers, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Jurnee Smollett, Aaron Sorkin, Paolo Sorrentino, Morgan Spector, Carly Steel, Holland Taylor, Sean Patrick Thomas, Tessa Thompson, Guillermo del Toro, Gabrielle Union, Lindsey Vonn, Dwyane Wade, John Waters, Rita Wilson, Edgar Wright, Kulapat Yantrasast, and Chloe Zhao.


The Academy Museum is the largest in the United States devoted to moviemaking arts, sciences, and artists. The museum advances cinema's understanding, celebration, and preservation through inclusive and accessible exhibitions, screenings, programs, initiatives, and collections. The museum was designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Renzo Piano and Renzo Piano Building Workshop in collaboration with Gensler as executive architect. The campus contains the restored and revitalized historic Saban Building—formerly known as the May Company building (1939)—and a soaring spherical addition. Together, these buildings contain 50,000 square feet of exhibition spaces, two state-of-the-art theaters, an education studio, restaurant, retail store, and beautiful public spaces. 

The museum opened to the public on September 30, 2021.