Saturday, January 29, 2022



Top Jury Prizes Go To Nanny (U.S. Dramatic)The Exiles (U.S. Documentary), All That Breathes (World Cinema Documentary), and Utama (World Cinema Dramatic)


Navalny (U.S. Documentary) and Cha Cha Real Smooth (U.S. Dramatic) Win Audience Awards Presented by Acura

Navalny Wins Festival Favorite Award

The 2022 Sundance Film Festival’s Awards were announced today. There were 84 feature films and 59 short films, that the juries deliberated and the audience voted, for the following films below, to emerge winners in their respective categories. The award-winning films will screen online on the Festival platform on Saturday, January 29, and Sunday, January 30. Tickets for all award screening films are available beginning at 5:00 PM MT today, January 28.

The 26 jury-awarded and six audience-awarded prizes recognize achievement in global independent storytelling. Bold, intimate, and culture-shifting stories prevailed across categories, with Grand Jury Prizes awarded to Nanny (U.S. Dramatic)The Exiles (U.S. Documentary), Utama (World Cinema Dramatic), and All That Breathes (World Cinema Documentary)

Audience Awards were presented to Navalny (U.S. Documentary), Cha Cha Real Smooth (U.S. Dramatic), Girl Picture (World Cinema Dramatic), The Territory (World Cinema Documentary), Framing Agnes (NEXT), with Navalny winning the Festival Favorite Award.

“Today's awards represent the determination of visionary individuals, whose dynamic work will continue to change the culture and create discourse throughout the year,” said Sundance Institute CEO Joana Vicente. “This year’s entire program has proven that no matter the context, independent storytelling remains a pivotal tool in expanding critical dialogues, and these stories will and must be shared.”

“The 2022 Sundance Film Festival once again met our audience wherever they happened to be,” added Sundance Film Festival Director Tabitha Jackson, “Whether you watched from home or one of our seven satellite screens, this year’s Festival expressed a powerful convergence; we were present, together, as a community connected through the work. And it is work that has already changed those who experienced it.”

"We are so grateful for this year's jurors who brought their expertise and passion to their decision-making process,” said the Festival’s Director of Programming Kim Yutani, “We congratulate the award winners and we're so thankful to each and every film in the program that made the 2022 Sundance Film Festival such a huge success."

The awards announcement marks a key point of the 2022 Festival, where 84 feature-length and 59 short films — selected from 14,849 submissions — were showcased online via the Festival’s online platform; a selection of the program will play at 7 Satellite Screen locations across the United States, starting tonight.

This year’s jurors were: Chelsea Barnard, Marielle Heller, and Payman Maadi for U.S. Dramatic Competition; Garrett Bradley, Joan Churchill, and Peter Nicks for U.S. Documentary Competition; Andrew Haigh, Mohamed Hefzy, and La Frances Hui for World Cinema Dramatic Competition; and Emilie Bujès, Patrick Gaspard, and Dawn Porter for World Cinema Documentary Competition. Joey Soloway was the juror for the NEXT competition section. Penelope Bartlett, Kevin Jerome Everson, and Blackhorse Lowe juried the Short Film Program Competition. 

Here are the rest of the award-winners:


The Directing Award: U.S. Documentary went to I Didn’t See You There

The Directing Award: U.S. Dramatic went to Palm Trees and Power Lines 

The Directing Award: World Cinema Documentary went to A House Made Of Splinters / Denmark

The Directing Award: World Cinema Dramatic went to KLONDIKE / Ukraine/Turkey

The Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic went to Emergency

The Jonathan Oppenheim Editing Award: U.S. Documentary went to Fire Of Love


U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award: Uncompromising Artistic Vision was presented to Bradley Rust Gray for blood 

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award: Ensemble Cast was presented to John Boyega, Nicole Beharie, Selenis Leyva, Connie Britton, Olivia Washington, London Covington, and Michael K Williams for 892 

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award: Impact for Change was presented to Aftershock 

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award: Creative Vision was presented to Descendant 

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award: Documentary Craft was presented to The Territory / Brazil/Denmark/United States

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award: Excellence In Verité Filmmaking was presented to Midwives / Myanmar

World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award: Innovative Spirit was presented for Leonor Will Never Die / Philippines

World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award: Acting was presented to Teresa Sánchez for Dos Estaciones / Mexico 


The NEXT Innovator Award presented by Adobe was presented to Chase Joynt for Framing Agnes / Canada, U.S.A. 


The Short Film Grand Jury Prize was awarded to The Headhunter’s Daughter / Philippines

The Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction was awarded to Walter Thompson-Hernández for IF I GO WILL THEY MISS ME 

The Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction was awarded to Dania Bdeir for Warsha / France/Lebanon 

The Short Film Jury Award: Nonfiction was awarded to Samir Karahoda for Displaced / Kosovo

The Short Film Jury Award: Animation was awarded to Joe Hsieh for Night Bus / Taiwan

A Short Film Special Jury Award: Ensemble Cast was presented to Zélia Duncan, Bruna Linzmeyer, Camila Rocha, Clarissa Ribeiro, and Lorre Motta for A wild patience has taken me here / Brazil 

A Short Film Special Jury Award: Screenwriting was awarded to Sara Driver for Stranger Than Rotterdam with Sara Driver / United States 


The 2022 Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, presented to an outstanding feature film about science or technology, was presented to After Yang. The filmmakers received a $20,000 cash award from Sundance Institute with support from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

The Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Nonfiction went to Su Kim for Free Chol Soo Lee (U.S. Documentary Competition).

The Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Fiction went to Amanda Marshall God’s Country (Premieres).

The Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Editing Nonfiction went to Toby Shimin, and the Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Editing Fiction went to Dody Dorn.

The Sundance Institute | NHK Award went to Hasan Hadi for his film The President’s Cake.

No comments:

Post a Comment