Thursday, June 13, 2024



The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures today announced the election of Olivier de Givenchy as Chair, Dr. Eric Esrailian as Vice Chair, and Patricia Bellinger Balzer as Secretary of its Board of Trustees.   
The Board of Trustees has also re-elected Jim Gianopulos as Treasurer.  
As the governing body of the Academy Museum, the board leads the museum toward a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies in addition to securing adequate resources to advance the museum’s mission.  
Incoming Academy Museum Director and President Amy Homma said, “We are thrilled to welcome Olivier de Givenchy, Dr. Eric Esrailian, and Patricia Bellinger Balzer to these Board Officer positions. As dedicated trustees serving on various committees and providing invaluable guidance and support, this group has played an active role in the museum’s success.” She continued, “We are also proud to re-elect Jim Gianopulos as Treasurer. He joined the board in 2017 as a founding trustee and has played a significant role in ensuring the museum’s financial stability.”  

Board of Trustees members as of July 1, 2024, include Olivier de Givenchy, Dr. Eric Esrailian, Patricia Bellinger Balzer, Jim Gianopulos, Howard Berger, Arnaud Boetsch, Effie T. Brown (honorary trustee), David Dolby, Tom Duffield, Sidonie Seydoux Dumas, Sid Ganis (honorary trustee), Julia S. Gouw, Ray Halbritter, Tom Hanks, Amy Homma, Travis Knight, Bill Kramer, Miky Lee, Eva Longoria, Ryan Murphy, Katherine L. Oliver, Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Shira Ruderman, Ted Sarandos, Regina K. Scully, Kimberly Steward, Janet Yang, and Kevin Yeaman. 
About Patricia Bellinger Balzer, Olivier de Givenchy, Dr. Eric Esrailian,  and Jim Gianopulos:

Patricia Bellinger Balzer (Secretary) is a philanthropist and highly experienced global board director. Bellinger Balzer has dedicated her career to empowering individuals and organizations to achieve high performance through enlightened leadership and inclusive cultural competence for over three decades. She is an operating partner at Sandbrook Capital, a private investment firm focused on climate impact. In June of last year, she retired from Harvard University as VP and Chief of Staff to the President, previously served on the faculty at the Harvard Kennedy School (HKS), and as a senior executive at Harvard Business School. Prior to her leadership roles at Harvard, Bellinger Balzer led the global diversity and inclusion transformation at energy conglomerate BP. Under her leadership, BP won the coveted Catalyst Award for the advancement of women and progress in global diversity. Bellinger Balzer currently serves on numerous public, private, and non-profit boards in the US and Europe, including Paris-based aviation/aerospace group Safran, Bath & Body Works, and the Smithsonian Institution National Board, among others. Bellinger Balzer also devotes considerable time to the non-profit sector, with a focus on youth development, human trafficking prevention, and the arts. 

Bellinger Balzer joined the board on June 26, 2020, and has been a member of the Governance and Nominations Committee and Co-Chair of the Collections and Exhibitions Committee. She gifted the Balzer Collection, the world’s most prominent collection of pre-cinematic objects, featured as part of the museum’s opening exhibition The Path to Cinema: Highlights from the Richard Balzer Collection. 

Olivier de Givenchy (Chair) is the CEO of J.P. Morgan Private Bank for the West Region and oversees offices in California, Washington, Arizona, Utah, and Colorado. He also has direct responsibility for the Los Angeles market and is Chairman of The West Coast Market Leadership Team. Previously, de Givenchy was the Chief Executive Officer of J.P. Morgan Private Bank in the United Kingdom and served on the board of J.P. Morgan International Bank. He began his career in financial services in 1985 and, since joining J.P. Morgan in 1993, has served in several leadership roles, including Chairman of J.P. Morgan International Bank, Chairman of the London Management Committee, and the private bank representative for the EMEA CEO Conference. He sits on the J. Paul Getty Museum Director’s Council, is an ambassador of The Blue Marine Foundation, and a founding member of the Blue Marine Yacht Club.

De Givenchy joined the board on June 26, 2020, and has been active on the Campaign and Development Committee and the Programming Committee.

Dr. Eric Esrailian (Vice Chair) is a physician, film producer, and entrepreneur. He is also actively involved in philanthropic efforts connecting health, human rights, education, and the arts. Esrailian is a professor, Chief of the UCLA Vatche and Tamar Manoukian Division of Digestive Diseases, and Co-Chair of the UCLA Chancellor’s Second Century Council for the whole university—alongside the institution’s major supporters. Esrailian is part of the leadership of several philanthropic organizations, and he is a long-time board member and Vice Chair of the Hammer Museum. He has also produced films with a focus on human rights issues and social impact. In 2017, the university designated Esrailian as a UCLA Optimist among its notable alumni and faculty dedicated to solving the world’s problems. In 2019, Esrailian and his partners co-founded SOMM TV, a streaming service with original series, films, podcasts, and master classes dedicated to wine and food. In 2021, he was also honored by Pope Francis at the Vatican with the Benemerenti Medal for his humanitarian activities around the world. 

Esrailian joined the board on June 21, 2022, and has served on the Campaign and Development and Governance and Nominations Committees. He has been active in supporting a range of programs and projects at the museum, notably The Promise Workshops, which brings together the empowering and expressive nature of filmmaking with professional skill development to Los Angeles area emerging adults ages 18–23.

Jim Gianopulos (Treasurer) served as the Chairman and CEO of Paramount Pictures until 2021, where he oversaw the studio’s film and television operations worldwide, including production, marketing, and distribution. He previously headed 20th Century Fox. He has sat on the Board of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and currently sits on the Boards of the Motion Picture & Television Fund and the X Prize Foundation. He is a member of the Board of Councilors of the University of Southern California School of the Cinematic Arts, where he is an Adjunct Professor. 

Gianopulos joined the board in 2017, as a founding trustee. He was first appointed Treasurer in 2021 and is the Chair of the Finance Committee. 

No comments:

Post a Comment